Riley Named DPOY, 4 Other 'Dogs Named All-WAC

Marcus Riley/

The Western Athletic Conference announced its all-WAC teams and coach and players of the year awards as voted upon by the WAC's nine head coaches. Fresno State placed four players on the first team, and one on the second team, including Defensive Player of the Year Marcus Riley. Hawai‘i led the league with 11 first-team all-WAC honorees, while Boise State placed five on the first team.

Marcus Riley led the way for the Bulldogs on the All-WAC team earning the Defensive Player of the Year award. He is the first Bulldog since Garret McIntyre in 2005 to earn the award. Fellow Bulldogs OL Ryan Wendell, TE Bear Pascoe, and DE Tyler Clutts joined Riley on the All-WAC first team. KR A.J. Jefferson was named to the second team.

Riley, a senior linebacker from Sacramento, Calif. (Elk Grove HS), is currently fourth in the WAC and 25th in the nation in tackles this season with 10.2 per game. He has 123 tackles (60 solo), and lead the WAC in tackles for loss with 13.0 for 35 yards. He also forced three fumbles and intercepted one pass during the season. The award is the third for a Fresno State defensive player as Alan Harper won it in 2001 and Garrett McIntyre in 2005. Riley will finish his career in the Roady's Humanitarian Bowl against Georgia Tech on December 31.


Pos-Name, School, Ht., Wt., Year

WR-Jeremy Childs, Boise State, 6-0, 184, So.
WR-$*Davone Bess, Hawai‘i, 5-10, 195, Jr.
WR-Ryan Grice-Mullen, Hawai‘i, 5-11, 179, Jr.
TE-Bear Pascoe, Fresno State, 6-5, 260, Jr.
OL-*Ryan Clady, Boise State, 6-6, 319, Jr.
OL-Ryan Wendell, Fresno State, 6-2, 260, Sr.
OL-John Estes, Hawai‘i, 6-2, 290, So.
OL-Hercules Satele, Hawai‘i, 6-2, 288, Sr.
OL-%Dominic Green, Nevada, 6-3, 295, Jr.
QB-*Colt Brennan, Hawai‘i, 6-3, 196, Sr.
RB-*Ian Johnson, Boise State, 5-11, 194, Jr.
RB-Luke Lippincott, Nevada, 6-2, 215, Jr.

Pos-Name, School, Ht., Wt., Year

DL-David Veikune, Hawai‘i, 6-3, 258, Jr.
DL-%Tyler Clutts, Fresno State, 6-2, 245, Sr.
DL-Nick Schlekeway, Boise State, 6-4, 262, Sr.
DL-%Mike Lafaele, Hawai‘i, 6-0, 302, Sr.
LB-Marcus Riley, Fresno State, 6-0, 220, Sr.
LB-Solomon Elimimian, Hawai‘i, 6-0, 224, Jr.
LB-­am Leonard, Hawai‘i, 6-0, 236, Jr.
LB-*David Vobora, Idaho, 6-1, 240, Sr.
LB-%Matt Castelo, San Jose State, 5-10, 228, Sr.
DB-#%Marty Tadman, Boise State, 5-11, 182, Sr.
DB-Antonio Baker, Louisiana Tech, 5-11, 200, So.
DB-Myron Newberry, Hawai‘i, 5-8, 164, Sr.
DB-*Dwight Lowery, San Jose State, 6-1, 185, Sr.

Pos-Name, School, Ht., Wt., Year

PK-Dan Kelly, Hawai‘i, 6-3, 202, Jr.
P-Chris Keagle, Louisiana Tech, 6-0, 233, Jr.
ST-Kevin Robinson, Utah State, 6-0, 192, Sr.



WR-%Jason Rivers, Sr., Hawai‘i
WR-*Chris Williams, Jr., New Mexico State
WR-Kevin Jurovich, Jr., San Jose State
TE-Adam Bishop, Sr., Nevada
OL-Tad Miller, Sr., Boise State
OL-Adam Korby, Sr., Idaho
OL-Tyler Miller, Sr., Louisiana Tech
OL-Mike Martinez, Sr., New Mexico State
OL-John Booker, Sr., San Jose State
OL-Shawn Murphy, Sr., Utah State
QB-Taylor Tharp, Sr., Boise State
RB-Deonte' Jackson, Fr., Idaho
RB-Patrick Jackson, Jr., Louisiana Tech

DL-Josh Muse, Sr., Louisiana Tech
DL-Chris Pugh, Sr., Louisiana Tech
DL-%Matt Hines, Sr., Nevada
DL-Jarron Gilbert, Jr., San Jose State
LB-Quin Harris, Jr., Louisiana Tech
LB-*Ezra Butler, Sr., Nevada
LB-Dante Floyd, Sr., New Mexico State
LB-Jake Hutton, Jr., Utah State
DB-Kyle Wilson, So., Boise State
DB-*Stanley Franks, Sr., Idaho
DB-Shiloh Keo, So., Idaho
DB-Christopher Owens, Jr., San Jose State

PK-Kyle Brotzman, Fr., Boise State
P-Leon Jackson III, Sr., Utah State
ST-A.J. Jefferson, So., Fresno State
ST-Shiloh Keo, So., Idaho


Offensive Player of the Year
– Colt Brennan, Sr., QB, Hawai‘I
Defensive Player of the Year – Marcus Riley, Sr., LB, Fresno State
Freshman of the Year – Colin Kaepernick, QB, Nevada
Coach of the Year – June Jones, Hawai‘i

Special Award
Offensive Unit of the Year
– Hawai‘i: Davone Bess, Jr., WR; Colt Brennan, Sr., QB; Ryan Grice-Mullen, Jr., WR; C.J. Hawthorne, Sr., WR; and Jason Rivers, Sr., WR

*2006 First-Team All-WAC Selection
06 Second-Team All-WAC Selection
$2005 First-Team All-WAC Selection
#2005 Second-Team All-WAC Selection Recommended Stories